Virginia law defines “reckless driving” as: “operating a motor vehicle at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.” Reckless driving by statute can include specific behaviors such as driving more than 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, as well as in excess of 80 miles per hour, regardless of the posted speed limit. Many times you may be cited with “reckless driving” as a result of a motor vehicle accident or where the officer determines that you were driving too fast for the road conditions.
Reckless driving is considered a Class One Misdemeanor in Virginia. This means that there is much more at stake than the possibility of your insurance rate increasing. Rather, as with all Class One Misdemeanors in Virginia, a reckless driving conviction could leave you faced with a jail sentence of up to one year, up to a $2,500 fine, as well as a loss of your driving privileges. You could also be facing charges of child neglect if there was a child in the vehicle. It is important to have an experienced attorney on your side who will be able to protect your rights and interests.
I regularly represent individuals charged with reckless driving in Hanover County, Henrico, County, Caroline County, or the City of Richmond. If you have been charged with reckless driving, or any other traffic related offense, please feel free to call my office for a free initial consultation.